Jane Bucher headshot

April 28, 2023 – Jane E. Bucher of Russell Law Offices, S.C., Brodhead, is the next president-elect of the State Bar of Wisconsin.

In the elections ending April 28, 2023, Bucher defeated Marisol González Castillo of Madison by 1,699 votes to 1,368.

Bucher will serve a one-year term as president-elect starting July 1, 2023, before succeeding Dean Dietrich of Wausau on July 1, 2024, as State Bar president.

Bucher is a senior attorney with Russell Law Offices, S.C. She practices family law and criminal defense.

“It was an honor to be nominated, an honor to be elected, and an honor to run alongside Marisol González-Castillo,” Bucher said. “I look forward to serving all members of the State Bar and to advancing the State Bar’s important work on access to justice, criminal justice reform, and diversity, equity, and inclusion.”

Visit WisBar.org to
learn more about Bucher.

Deanne Koll headshot

Deanne Koll of New Richmond wins treasurer post.

Saveon Grenell headshot

Saveon Grenell of Waukesha elected as Judicial Council representative.

In Other State Bar Races

Deanne M. Koll of Bakke Norman, S.C., New Richmond was elected to a two-year term as
treasurer, defeating Chuck Stertz of Appleton by 1,799 votes to 1,169.

Learn more about

Winning a three-year term as
Judicial Council representative is
Saveon Grenell of Buelow Vetter Buikema Olson & Vliet, LLC, Waukesha, defeating John Orton of Mauston by 1,479 votes to 1,477

Lean more about

Board of Governors Election Results

By district (see the district map), those elected to serve two-year terms beginning July 1 as district representatives on the State Bar Board of Governors are:

District 1 (one vacancy)

District 2 (seven vacancies)

District 3 (one vacancy)

District 5 (one vacancy)

District 6 (one vacancy)

District 7 (one vacancy)

District 9 (three vacancies)

District 11 (one vacancy)

District 13 (one vacancy)

  • Tatiana Shirasaki, Dodge County Corporation Counsel, Juneau, Toledo Brazil 1998, U.W. 2014

District 15 (one vacancy)

  • Elizabeth Stinebaugh, Legal Action of Wisconsin Inc., Racine, University of the District of Columbia 2013

More about State Bar Board of Governors’ Elections

The Board of Governors is the State Bar’s policymaking body. Governors serve two-year terms.

Districts 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 9, 11, 13, and 15 elected governors in 2023. District 2 (Milwaukee) elected seven; District 9 (Dane) elected three; and all other districts elected one.

Not sure which district is yours? See the district map.